GameSlurp




Go Back   GameSlurp > Off Topic


Log-in/register to unlock all the member quick-links and features!
Reply


Captn SMAK's Avatar
Captn SMAK
360 Club Mentor
Captn SMAK is Male   Captn SMAK is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a PCI own a DSI own a Xbox. My Xbox Live ID is: Captn SMAKI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Feb 2007
Whitwick - Leicestershire
Posts: 1,656

 
14-12-2009, 02:03 PM
#1

Surround Sound Settings

Hi Guys, I wondered if anyone can help as I'm a complete numb nuts when its comes to anything AV.

I bought a Samsung HT-Z325 Home Cinema surround sound system about 4 weeks ago and was told by someone in the shop this is the best way to set it up.

I have a PS3 and a Virgin V+ Box, I am running both PS3 and V+ into the TV (LG 42LH3000) via HDMI then outputting the TV to the Samsung DVD/AMP via Optic cable. I am doing it this way because there is only 1 Optical input on the AMP. Now I do get sound through all speakers but wouldn't say I am 100% happy with it and there seems to be a mili second sound delay on the PS3. Do I need an optical switch for true surround sound for this as everything is running through the TV into the Samsung. All this could just be me as the other half said it all seems ok but she is a girl and doesn't understand (no offence to our female members )

Thanks all for taking your time to read this and any help would be a big thanks.


     
cupasoup
Senior Member
cupasoup is Male   cupasoup is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a PC
Join Date: Aug 2009
Yorkshire
Posts: 504

 
14-12-2009, 02:28 PM
#2

Re: Surround Sound Settings

You would be best getting an optical switch, I guess you could hook up your vbox through phono and you PS3 through optical but I doubt you would get true 5.1 through your vbox.

I wouldnt have it into your telle and then into your amp, have everything going through your amp and switch the channel as and when, just kill the sound on your telle and it should be all good .


     
Smak's Avatar
Smak
Moderator
Smak is Male   Smak is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a PCI own a DSI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Jan 2007
Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 4,996

 
14-12-2009, 02:33 PM
#3

Re: Surround Sound Settings

Is there no HDMI-in on the amp just optical in?


     
jotch's Avatar
jotch
Moderator
jotch is Male   jotch is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a XboxI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Feb 2007
Bromley
Posts: 6,308

 
14-12-2009, 02:52 PM
#4

Re: Surround Sound Settings

Does the v+ box give you 5.1? If not then I'd link the PS3 directly to the amp with the optical cable, otherwise you'd be better off getting a switch. I wouldn't loop anything through your tv.

@Smak, no HDMI input on this model, just out for scaling DVDs.

I just need a soundproof room for my setup, so I don't wake the little one...that's one of my must-haves when I'm looking for a new house


     
Captn SMAK's Avatar
Captn SMAK
360 Club Mentor
Captn SMAK is Male   Captn SMAK is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a PCI own a DSI own a Xbox. My Xbox Live ID is: Captn SMAKI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Feb 2007
Whitwick - Leicestershire
Posts: 1,656

 
14-12-2009, 03:01 PM
#5

Re: Surround Sound Settings

Thanks for getting back to me guys, so you wont get 5.1 through the VBox? So what your saying is, plug the ps3 directly into the Samsung Amp via optical and run the vbox through the tv speakers or run something like a scart from TV to Samsung? Will that make the sound terrible being scart? Or I could use component for the TV - Sound?

EDIT: Some more info here http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Samsung-HT-Z32...item5ad49404ee


     
jotch's Avatar
jotch
Moderator
jotch is Male   jotch is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a XboxI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Feb 2007
Bromley
Posts: 6,308

 
14-12-2009, 03:22 PM
#6

Re: Surround Sound Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captn SMAK View Post
Thanks for getting back to me guys, so you wont get 5.1 through the VBox? So what your saying is, plug the ps3 directly into the Samsung Amp via optical and run the vbox through the tv speakers or run something like a scart from TV to Samsung? Will that make the sound terrible being scart?

EDIT: Some more info here http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Samsung-HT-Z32...item5ad49404ee
For the time being I'm saying connect the PS3 directly to the Amp, and let the V+ Box use the tele for sound or use the standard red/white phono cable connection to the amp. By all accounts it's only the HD channels that support 5.1 so this is when an optical switch would come in handy. Do you watch much HD tv?

For movies and games you'll then have decent surround sound and then tv you'll have decent stereo sound until you get the switcher.

The delay you're getting is probably caused by the sound going through your TV, at least with what I suggest you'll elimate this problem.

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/t...ype=prd_detail


     
Captn SMAK's Avatar
Captn SMAK
360 Club Mentor
Captn SMAK is Male   Captn SMAK is offline
 
I own a Nintendo WiiI own a Sony PSPI own a PCI own a DSI own a Xbox. My Xbox Live ID is: Captn SMAKI own a Gamecube
Join Date: Feb 2007
Whitwick - Leicestershire
Posts: 1,656

 
14-12-2009, 03:35 PM
#7

Re: Surround Sound Settings

Thanks Jotch, ill do this at the weekend, I did think thats what was causing the delay though. I do watch a fair bit of HD when I can but I would sooner have propper 5.1 on my PS3.


     
Reply

Top

© Copyright 2008, Gameslurp   GameSlurp | Contact Us | Archive | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Top